DIY, FURNITURE, THRIFTING
Comments 2

Bentwood chairs

Although we probably won’t have a place of our own for a couple months (my saint of a best friend has taken us in for the time being), I’m still mentally planning out our future apartment. We sold a lot of the furniture from our last place, most of which was purchased only becauase it was super-cheap.

However, one thing that I really, really hope works in our new place is a set of bentwood chairs that I found on Craigslist a while back. What’s that? No one in their right mind would try to fit six dining chairs into a New York apartment? Nah, it’ll be fine… [disappears under pile of chairs]

After we moved into our last apartment, I began scouring Craigslist daily for some decent dining chairs. I settled, at first, for a mismatched set of windsor chairs. They were fine for a while, but the clashing wood tones drove me nuts. What I really wanted was something more like these Thonet-style bentwood chairs. I’m partial to the classic styles in brown or black.

Bentwood chair from Lonny

Design by Deborah Needleman, from Lonny Magazine Oct/Nov 2009, found via birch & lily

I do also like this updated version from Crate and Barrel, which comes in fun, bright lacquer finishes.

Crate and Barrel Vienna Apple Side Chair

And then one day – there they were. A set of 6 bentwood chairs for $60, just 45 minutes away. A Craigslist miracle.

Bentwood before

I’m ashamed to say that it took me several months to reupholster them. I was holding out for the perfect fabric for my perfect chairs, but eventually I got so fed up with the gross velvet that I recovered them in natural muslin, because that’s what I had on hand.

bentwood chairs |raisonné blog

I’m in love.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

